Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums

Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums (http://www.arofanatics.com/forums/index.php)
-   Aquascapers Equipment, DIY and Hardware (http://www.arofanatics.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=50)
-   -   Do the Aquarium Lights need to be on 24 hrs? (http://www.arofanatics.com/forums/showthread.php?t=270254)

WaveSurfer 10-01-2007 11:45 AM

Do the Aquarium Lights need to be on 24 hrs?

Hi all,

Newbie here. Wish to ask if the Aquarium Lights need to be on 24 hrs for the plants to be healthy? I'm using 2 florescence pink light tubes.

Thanks.

the_r0ck 10-01-2007 11:55 AM

Nope, you do not have to and honestly, don't.

Plants need to rest like fishes and having 24 hour light cycles will cause stress to the plants.

Buy a timer (there are cheap and ok ones for around $10 or so) and set it to a photo period of around 10-12 hours.

-Calvin

stevenhii 10-01-2007 01:09 PM

maybe you can name what plants you trying to keep, and from there you need to plan the amount of light.

I recommend 8-9hrs is the best, long hrs of lighting will cause algea visiting your tank.

|squee| 10-01-2007 02:19 PM

Ditch the pink light tubes and get white ones. Pink lights do nothing for plants. :)

WaveSurfer 10-01-2007 03:20 PM

Thanks for all your replies! Glad to see help all around :)

Here are the current two species I have:
Baby Tears
Dwarf Ambulia

My aquarium is in the living room but not near the windows. Moderate natural lighting in the day.

Though the recommended no. of hours of artificial lighting is 8 to 10 hours, will my following schedule work (due to lifestyle pattern)?

Switch On: 6.30pm (upon reaching home after work)
Switch Off: 7am (before going off for work)
Total hours: 11.5 hours

Since it's the night-time that the lights will be turned on, will the natural light in the day contribute to the no. of light hours too?

Any recommendations on a more suitable schedule (without automatic timer) will be much appreciated.

squee,