Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums

Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums (http://www.arofanatics.com/forums/index.php)
-   Qian Hu (http://www.arofanatics.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=115)
-   -   OF Hydra 30 Internal Filter (http://www.arofanatics.com/forums/showthread.php?t=473667)

Qian Hu 18-08-2011 04:53 PM

OF Hydra 30 Internal Filter
 
Dear Friends,

We are please to inform that OF Hydra 30 Internal Filter which some of you might have seen it during Aquarama is launching soon in Singapore.



Be sure to find out more from our Fish Farm @ 71 Jalan Lekar, Accessories Retail Shop, Tel: 67661554.
Thank you! Visit Our website at yihufish.com for more of our products.
:)

Qian Hu 26-08-2011 06:32 PM

Dear Bro,

We are please to inform that Hydra 30 is finally launched. You may find it in most of the fish shop by next week.
:)

ranmaru1987 26-08-2011 06:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Qian Hu (Post 8621357)
Dear Bro,

We are please to inform that Hydra 30 is finally launched. You may find it in most of the fish shop by next week.
:)

there is a more powerful version right? the hydra 40 or 50.. when will it be out? and also the cata pure filter medium need to change? wat is its lifespan..

boxedfish 26-08-2011 07:18 PM

How many watts is this?

ranmaru1987 26-08-2011 07:23 PM

and also does this product remove algae growth? since it also reduces phosphates and nitrates into nitrogen gas..

boxedfish 26-08-2011 07:46 PM

And also also means technically, we do not need to change water anymore cos ammonia, nitrites and nitrates will be removed in the process. Just need to get the suitable sized filter for my bioload and replaced the Cata pure filter medium when it is due for replacement? That is technically speaking.

boxedfish 26-08-2011 07:51 PM

Also means no need to buy mech and bio filter mediums anymore and also no need to cultivate BB anymore?

Sorry so many questions. New technology ma and it's goin against the common notion of using BB .

tom_wong88 26-08-2011 10:55 PM

How Much is this ? any bigger capacity ?

Qian Hu 01-09-2011 12:01 PM

Thanks alot for your interest in our new product Hydra 30 and sorry for my late reply on the questions being asked.

Q. Does this product remove algae growth? since it also reduces phosphates and nitrates into nitrogen gas..


A. The phosphates are broken down to precipitates. Yes , it will prevent algae growth BUT it really depends on your organic loads, if it too high for the filter to cope, u will still have algae growth.

Q. And also also means technically, we do not need to change water anymore cos ammonia, nitrites and nitrates will be removed in the process. Just need to get the suitable sized filter for my bioload and replaced the Cata pure filter medium when it is due for replacement? That is technically speaking.
A. Yes, but there is also other chemical loads like metals and heavy metals, so you still have to change water.
Hydropure is also adjusted to allow some nitrate accumulation as we need to cater for tanks with water plants.
Fish also need some organic ions in the water in order to survive. The life span of the Cata pure last approximate 1 year.

Q. Also means no need to buy mech and bio filter mediums anymore and also no need to cultivate BB anymore?

A. If the filter sizing is correct and the organic loading ( no. of fishes, amount of feed fed, plants present...etc) is within the capacity, you are right.

Mechanical filter is provided in the Hydropure and the purpose is to trap particulate waste so that it does not clog the system .
BB will also growth in the mechanical filter and it is also needed as the fish digestive system still needs BB and all the available surface in the tank will also be occupied by BB.
Hydropure ionising effect is effective within the catapure chamber and will not harm the BB or any other microorganisms in other parts of the tank .

I had attached a graph for a better understanding of this filter. :)

http://i859.photobucket.com/albums/a...77/Hydra30.jpg

boxedfish 01-09-2011 01:37 PM

thanks for your reply, next is how much and are there any bigger capacity models available? how much is the Cata pure replacement. any plans to do an external version? i can help you design. haha..

ranmaru1987 01-09-2011 02:30 PM

thanks for the clarification.. wondering when the stock of the bigger version will come?? :D:D

Qian Hu 01-09-2011 04:08 PM

We are still currently working on the bigger version and thanks for those who are interested in it. We will keep you update when it is ready, thanks for the waiting. :)

hardric 03-09-2011 09:39 AM

I got a few questions:

1) You said that if the organic capacity is within the capacity, the filter will work well. I guess the question is: Do you have any rough indication of how much is the organic capacity? And if it cannot handle my organic capacity, can i put in additional filters/media?

2) The flow rate is around 500l per hour, but it can handle 300l tank (as stated on your ad). The turnover rate is rather low. If I add in another filter, a cannister for example, and bringing up the turnover rate will there be problems?

PNT Guy 10-09-2011 02:30 PM

My question is, will the current given out buy the OF Hydra 30 Internal Filter affect the pH meter reading?

Qian Hu 12-09-2011 04:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by PNT Guy (Post 8640506)
My question is, will the current given out buy the OF Hydra 30 Internal Filter affect the pH meter reading?

Only 5mA passes through the cata Pure and it will not affect the Ph reading of the tank significantly.

Qian Hu 12-09-2011 04:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by hardric (Post 8631605)
I got a few questions:

1) You said that if the organic capacity is within the capacity, the filter will work well. I guess the question is: Do you have any rough indication of how much is the organic capacity? And if it cannot handle my organic capacity, can i put in additional filters/media?

Different feeding habit, amount of feed and the number of fishes in the tank determine the amount of bio load in a fish tank. Regularly monitoring of the water perimeter is a safety measure to ensure that the organic capacity is of the safety perimeter. You may use additional filters with medias to help counter the bio load if it is way too high.

2) The flow rate is around 500l per hour, but it can handle 300l tank (as stated on your ad). The turnover rate is rather low. If I add in another filter, a cannister for example, and bringing up the turnover rate will there be problems?

Faster flowrate does not helps in breaking down the bio load faster as it need time for the organic waste to breakdown when it passes through the cata Pure. By using another filter, the flow rate will be determine by the filter pump therefore it will not change or affect the flow rate or efficiency of OF Hydra Pure.

hardric 12-09-2011 05:01 PM

Thanks for your reply. Will consider using it when my tank finally arrives.

PNT Guy 12-09-2011 05:04 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Qian Hu (Post 8643073)
Only 5mA passes through the cata Pure and it will not affect the Ph reading of the tank significantly.

How significant will it be? Like 0.1pH or?

Qian Hu 13-09-2011 11:32 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by PNT Guy (Post 8643103)
How significant will it be? Like 0.1pH or?

It will be tough for us to determine how much will the flatuation of the Ph value in each fish tank. As different fish tank will have different level of ions concentration. However, the flatuation of Ph value will be around plus minus 0.5 :)

nid 14-09-2011 01:20 AM

Couple of questions,

1) If it turns ammonia straight into nitrogen, wouldn't the BB have no food to eat and die?

2) If there will still be ammonia for the BB to feed on, doesn't that mean that NO3 will still be present? If so, would it be fair to say that it just reduces the NO3 level and not completely removes it?

3)Since it depends on ammonia being changed to NO3 before the normal cycle can begin, I'm guessing it has to be place in the tank itself and not in sumps or IOS compartments.

Sry for so many noob questions, just like to know a bit more before I commit myself.

Qian Hu 14-09-2011 12:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by nid (Post 8645545)
Couple of questions,

1) If it turns ammonia straight into nitrogen, wouldn't the BB have no food to eat and die?

2) If there will still be ammonia for the BB to feed on, doesn't that mean that NO3 will still be present? If so, would it be fair to say that it just reduces the NO3 level and not completely removes it?

3)Since it depends on ammonia being changed to NO3 before the normal cycle can begin, I'm guessing it has to be place in the tank itself and not in sumps or IOS compartments.

Sry for so many noob questions, just like to know a bit more before I commit myself.

Hi,

1. Not all the ammonia are removed. That is the reason why we say that hydra 30 can be used for all tank system , including planted tanks where certain nutrients need to be available for the plants. At any time, there will be transient amount of ammonia in the water , as fishes all still defecating and thus,the BB will still be working.

2. It will remove all the nitrogen-based nutrients when it comes in contact with them, thus , it is fair that to state that it will completely convert the N-nutrients to nitrogen when it comes in contact with them. Like we have describe, there is still transient amount of N-nutrients always in the water. Unless, all the living organisms in the water are removed. All the graphs shows a certain concentration of N-nutrients still available in the water.

3. Hydropure technology will convert all N-nutrients to nitrogen gas when it comes in contact, it does not need ammonia to be converted to any secondary forms.

No worries bro, you are asking valid questions, pls feel free to come back to us, if you need any more info.

Cheers

PNT Guy 14-09-2011 03:56 PM

So... Correct me if I am wrong. All nitrogen compounds that comesbin contact with the catalyst will be converted to N2 and other element? Does it increase affect the pH of the water when doing it's job eg. converting those common amounia, nitrite and nitrate to N2 just like anyother normal cycling process?

Zhuoyuting 16-09-2011 12:14 AM

Hi Can kindly quote me the price of this filter thanks in advance.

canopy 03-10-2011 12:49 PM

when will hydra20 be available?

Qian Hu 04-10-2011 04:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by canopy (Post 8671923)
when will hydra20 be available?

Hi,

The model hydra 20 will not be out so soon but we are hoping that it is ready at the second quarter of next year. Thanks for your interest.

nicktc 04-10-2011 05:01 PM

Hi,

How much is the Hydra 30?
Is it only available at QH, can we get it at the LFS as well?

Most importantly :o, is there any special for AF members :o

Thks

henryow7691 06-10-2011 05:51 AM

hi
 
Hi bro,

I have purchase the hydra 30 , can i used in 1.5x0.8x0.7 tank fill 80per cent of water? will it be undersize?

CSPaul 07-10-2011 04:08 PM

Hi Glen.
When will the OF Hydra 40 be available? I will be interested in purchasing this.

ark08 08-10-2011 08:21 PM

Its will be good if there is a external version for this hydra filter. Cause internal one take up some space.:D

SiShen 09-10-2011 09:14 AM

Its on offer price at $55 at QH =)

Qian Hu 10-10-2011 04:39 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SiShen (Post 8680731)
Its on offer price at $55 at QH =)

HI, thanks for your interest. The offer thst is selling in our fish farm are used Filter which we used it for a few days during Aquarama in the Arowana competition tank. :)

Qian Hu 10-10-2011 04:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by nicktc (Post 8673703)
Hi,

How much is the Hydra 30?
Is it only available at QH, can we get it at the LFS as well?

Most importantly :o, is there any special for AF members :o

Thks

Hi, the filter you may get it at LSF as well. As regards to the special price, i am sorry to inform that it is during the seminar which we had held 2 weeks back by Dr Alex. :p

Qian Hu 10-10-2011 04:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CSPaul (Post 8678721)
Hi Glen.
When will the OF Hydra 40 be available? I will be interested in purchasing this.

Hi, thanks for your interest in the bigger version of Hydra Filter. But it will not be out soon as there are some final detail to be tune up. Hopefully we are able to see it be next year second quarter. :)

Qian Hu 10-10-2011 04:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by henryow7691 (Post 8676094)
Hi bro,

I have purchase the hydra 30 , can i used in 1.5x0.8x0.7 tank fill 80per cent of water? will it be undersize?

Hi, you may use it as a backup to prevent any sudden ammonia spike due to over feeding or BB crash. As every hobbyist know thats the fish hates most is sudden change in water perimeter and which is the often caused of fish death suddenly.

Qian Hu 21-10-2011 05:51 PM

Hi, have tried to post the video of Hydra Filter on the front but dont really know how to, paiseh for that.

So only able to post the link for your view. Hope that with this video, it will help most of you to further understand the functionof this filter using the new technology. :)

[YOUTUBE]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jPTdBrFGlPA[/YOUTUBE]

scottelfy 21-10-2011 10:24 PM

YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.

itchy 21-10-2011 11:00 PM

Can ask for your opinion, if I am to use this Hydra 30 in my sump system, will it be better to place at 1st or last compartment? Thanks

sloke 23-10-2011 09:41 PM

May I know has anyone bought 1 x Hydra 30 for himself and see whether any improvement in the nitrate level? If yes, that will be great, would like to hear your opinion for our decision-making.

Qian Hu 24-10-2011 09:37 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by scottelfy (Post 8700415)
YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.

Thanks bro for helping me to bring the video out on the main page. Kum Xia :)

Qian Hu 24-10-2011 09:38 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by itchy (Post 8700456)
Can ask for your opinion, if I am to use this Hydra 30 in my sump system, will it be better to place at 1st or last compartment? Thanks

Hi, you may place it at the last compartment of your sump system.


All times are GMT +9. The time now is 08:21 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2000-2008 Arofanatics.com (Since 30th August 2000)