Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums  

Go Back   Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums > General Aquatic Forums > Stingrays & other bottom dwellers Forum

Adv

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 26-02-2017, 11:07 PM   #1
fish88
Arofanatic
 
fish88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 63
Rep Power: 0
fish88 is neutral, pH7
Reputation: 16
Default Waterchange in fgt

Hi, I'm a newbe here, I would like to know if I do need to scoop up the surface of my fgt to reduce ammonia during water change or I can just put a airstone and not scoop the surface of the fgt during waterchange? As I'm currently keeping Ray in my fgt and I'm scare that I have a ammonia spike if I don't scoop the water in the surface and it is quite tiring to keep scooping the surface during waterchange. Anyone advise how they do waterchange in fgt?. Thanks for reading.
fish88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2017, 04:24 PM   #2
ThErMuS
Dragon
 
ThErMuS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,347
Rep Power: 6
ThErMuS is a famous personalityThErMuS is a famous personalityThErMuS is a famous personalityThErMuS is a famous personalityThErMuS is a famous personalityThErMuS is a famous personalityThErMuS is a famous personalityThErMuS is a famous personalityThErMuS is a famous personality
Reputation: 1151
Default

do a overflow pipe for your fgt.

when waterchange, just top up water. The wasted water will be drained out via your overflow pipe and to your house drain
ThErMuS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2017, 09:39 PM   #3
shalabin
Dragon
 
shalabin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,484
Rep Power: 3
shalabin has many friendsshalabin has many friendsshalabin has many friendsshalabin has many friends
Reputation: 379
Default

Last time when i using FGT i just keep my pump running and use another pump to drain water out and then add AC and fill in from the tap.

Cheers and regards
shalabin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2017, 11:26 PM   #4
striker78
Dragon
 
striker78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 532
Rep Power: 4
striker78 is well received in the communitystriker78 is well received in the communitystriker78 is well received in the communitystriker78 is well received in the communitystriker78 is well received in the communitystriker78 is well received in the community
Reputation: 694
Default

bro fish88, I don't scoop the top surface layer during water change in fgt. I just use a suction flow to suck up remaining waste/dirt in the fgt and than Top Up water only. if you perform regular water change. it shuld be okie.
striker78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2017, 09:46 PM   #5
cheeboon23
New Member
 
cheeboon23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 19
Rep Power: 0
cheeboon23 is neutral, pH7
Reputation: 34
Default





This is what I have done. A top hole for overflow, my tank is partially exposed to rain water. Another hole with tap 1/3 from base for water change; flip of a tap to discharge water.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
cheeboon23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2017, 09:52 PM   #6
cheeboon23
New Member
 
cheeboon23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 19
Rep Power: 0
cheeboon23 is neutral, pH7
Reputation: 34
Default







I maintain a L-Shape PVC pipe and when required, attach into internal of fgt drain hole. By tilt it at different angle, I can leave tap on and water will discharge till the tip of the L-PVC. The surface will be skimmed clean towards end of discharge.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
cheeboon23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2017, 08:03 PM   #7
thanantosis
Arofanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 63
Rep Power: 1
thanantosis is neutral, pH7
Reputation: 95
Default

i will be using a dripping system
thanantosis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2017, 05:48 PM   #8
Aro77

Dragon
 
Aro77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 689
Rep Power: 2
Aro77 has many friendsAro77 has many friendsAro77 has many friendsAro77 has many friendsAro77 has many friends
Reputation: 423
Default

just have adequate aeration along with good anti chlorine for water change,,, along with a solid filtration system for your general water parameters and it should be fine. for me i personally dont worry too much about the stuff on the water surface.
Aro77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Adv


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +9. The time now is 03:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2000-2008 Arofanatics.com (Since 30th August 2000)