Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums  

Go Back   Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums > General Aquatic Forums > Betta Forum

Old 29-07-2004, 11:27 AM   #1
amigo
Dragon

Default tank size for breeding

like to know what is the size of the tank you guys give for the love nest.
i am still learning, so please contribute.
amigo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-2004, 12:41 PM   #2
KY Foong

Different people use the size of their choice and with reason. When I started breeding I did all the spawns in those PET containers. The reason as my friend told me is that it is easier for them to "cross path" in a confined space and easy for the male to pick up the freshly hatched fries. When the fries are bigger I transfer them into another tank. I simply pour out 1 week old fries into a 1 ft tank. Many spawns no problem. Many have also seen me doing that. Nowadays I use a 1 ft tank and then leave the fries and the father there (I'm lazy liao). Someone asked me what is the smallest tank I have used? It's the smallest guppy tank. Successful? Yes. So it's your choice. I also used to cover the whole thing in newspaper so that the fishes are not disturbed. Now I feel a little silly, young people kissed in public! (got the clue?).
The final answer, use what's best available and pratical to you. Growing up tank is a little different, the fries need space and I think no more than 100 fries per 1 ft tank. Split the fries if your spawn is big. After 3 weeks this should be no more than 50 per 1 ft tank. This is my experience and others may have theirs.
Half cut cups? I don't use them anymore. Just plain or use a very dried ketapang leave floating. Bubbles? Borrowed ones also can.
Hiding place? This is necessary for the female. I use ketapang leave (soaked to make sure it sinks).
Old 29-07-2004, 02:19 PM   #3
betta_zoid87
Senior Dragon

gd luck in ur breeding program amigo...
betta_zoid87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2004, 11:52 PM   #4
Gus
Dragon