Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums  

Go Back   Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums > General Aquatic Forums > Planted Tanks & Aquascaping Forum > Aquascapers Equipment, DIY and Hardware

Old 03-06-2006, 06:30 AM   #1
new_
Dragon

Default Lightning

i am totally new to planted tanks.. there are some questions i would like to ask regarding lightning.. i dun understand some of the short forms used here.. wats PL and FL light bulb. is a normal flourscent light bulb enough for a tank with some java fern and riccia w/o CO2 and soil?? my current 4ft tank lightning consists of 2X3ft 30W light blub.. i dunnno wat type of light bulb it is.. it gives out pinkish light.. it comes as a whole set when i bought the lights....
new_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2006, 06:57 PM   #2
richietay

PL is a 4-pin with 1 U-shape tube. This is the type we use in our aquarium lighting because of the availability of higher wattage tubes. PL does not have a starter. normally use it with an electronic ballast or control gear.
Old 03-06-2006, 07:29 PM   #3
new_
Dragon

then wats FL??? n T5?? i c all these terms in the forum n i dunno wat they mean..thankz for ur help..
Old 03-06-2006, 07:31 PM   #4
minyun

FL is those normal light tube, those we use in our home.
Old 03-06-2006, 08:28 PM   #5
|squee|

FL aka fluorescent tube

PL aka Philips lighting(not sure)

Get rid of the pinkish ones and buy white ones.

Quote:
Originally Posted by new_
is a normal flourscent light bulb enough for a tank with some java fern and riccia w/o CO2 and soil??
Yes, it is enough but it depends... tanks have individual variations. Anyway, Riccia without CO2 won't give you the bubbling effect.
Old 03-06-2006, 09:29 PM   #6
new_
Dragon

Quote:
Originally Posted by |squee|
FL aka fluorescent tube

PL aka Philips lighting(not sure)

Get rid of the pinkish ones and buy white ones.

Yes, it is enough but it depends... tanks have individual variations. Anyway, Riccia without CO2 won't give you the bubbling effect.