Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums  

Go Back   Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums > Arowana Forum > Tank set-ups, Filtration & Water Management

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 13-01-2015, 02:18 AM   #1
terenz
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 35
Default Bio home 2kg for 422 tank

Guys, lfs told me 2 kgs is more than enough for 422 tank with aro and 2 rays. Is it true? I also read on the box 1 kg treats 3000 liters. So any opinion?
terenz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2015, 09:36 AM   #2
Hydher
Dragon
 
Hydher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,689
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by terenz View Post
Guys, lfs told me 2 kgs is more than enough for 422 tank with aro and 2 rays. Is it true? I also read on the box 1 kg treats 3000 liters. So any opinion?
Disclaimer,
I dun run any test. I base on clarity, fish appetite and behaviour.
Im not a professional so take my post with a pinch of salt.

If you plan on using two liters of biohome with minor pre mechanical filtering, my answer is no.

I had 2 trays of cheapo dymax glass rings and 1L of biohome in my canister for my 422 . IT and aro. I felt they wasnt behaving as they used to.

So I changed to an OHF and added 3L of bacteria house.
They are doing very well now. Even better when I added a 24/7 wavemaker.

However, I have the cannister on standby with 2L of eheim substrate pro and 6L of mr aqua ceramic rings for when they are fully grown.

These are monster fishes and your tank seems overstocked.

my 2 cents.
Hydher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2015, 09:40 AM   #3
Hydher
Dragon
 
Hydher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,689
Default

To avoid any confusion, I am not running on 3kg of bacteria house alone.

Currently running on 1 OHF with 3 L of bio rings, 3L of bacteria house, 1 L of bio home grey.
Hydher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2015, 09:46 AM   #4
itchy
Endangered Dragon
 
itchy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11,159
Default

I litre biohomme plus treat 3000l, but how much bioload inside we don't know. Rays bioload not light , maybe you can put as much medias as possible .
itchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2015, 09:48 AM   #5
tangmulong4488
Dragon
 
tangmulong4488's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,653
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by terenz View Post
Guys, lfs told me 2 kgs is more than enough for 422 tank with aro and 2 rays. Is it true? I also read on the box 1 kg treats 3000 liters. So any opinion?
lfs also read from box description. if you ask me, i think their marketing team is top notch.
tangmulong4488 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2015, 12:08 AM   #6
cheogin
Arofanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 93
Default

Hi,

Let me try to tell this in a story, this is how i learn anyways.

Imagine you are a BB in your family of BBs, as your family grows you will need more homes for your other BBs, hence surface areas required.

But in order to grow and prosper you will need to feed your family, hence ammonia also know fish waste.

So if there is not much food and you cant grow much, technically you will be living in a bungalow style housing, with more food hence more BB you will move to HDB with 100 BB inside.

So the question is:
1) do you have enough food?
2) if you do, then do you have enough housing? big house or hdb

before you answer the question, there is a fundamental math/chemical equation we have to solve. If we solve this then we pretty much have answered all questions on this site related to how much BB or media is required.

if we have X ammonia in the water, how much surface area(for BB) is required to make X=0


can someone help here?


Man what did i just write.....hahaha...ok good night.
cheogin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2015, 12:57 AM   #7
terenz
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 35
Default

Just to clear the air. I have 1 XB 12in, 2 rays 8in, 1 NT 5in, 2 barbs small, 1 L240 7 in. Currently got 2 kg of biohome and 20 liters of glafoam media (to be safe). Biohome in KL expensive.
terenz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2015, 01:04 PM   #8
desmondpeh
Senior Dragon
 
desmondpeh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 3,826
Default

Bro if you wan cheap and good media, get coral chips for your canister and OHF.
Works well for me. But con side is coral chips tend to get "clogged" up over a period of time so need to rinse and replace when necessary to maintain efficiency.
desmondpeh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2015, 06:00 PM   #9
Vitor
Dragon
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 1,079
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by terenz View Post
Just to clear the air. I have 1 XB 12in, 2 rays 8in, 1 NT 5in, 2 barbs small, 1 L240 7 in. Currently got 2 kg of biohome and 20 liters of glafoam media (to be safe). Biohome in KL expensive.
basically ur load mainly from ur aro, rays and pleco which is heavy weight shitting machines , depends on how much u feed too.

not neccessary must use biohommes, alot of us cannot afford due to high priced.
u can always try cheaper options which is pretty decent, like normal bio rods, Mr aqua creamic rings, oceanfree media, recently crazed marine pure stuffs, ehiem medias , etc. which i find them pretty good and decent.

- like i always say, house is still house, luxury house vs normal looking house, still a place that can stay. always better than no house.
Vitor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-01-2015, 11:44 AM   #10
beepoobee
Arofanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 143
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vitor View Post
basically ur load mainly from ur aro, rays and pleco which is heavy weight shitting machines , depends on how much u feed too.

not neccessary must use biohommes, alot of us cannot afford due to high priced.
u can always try cheaper options which is pretty decent, like normal bio rods, Mr aqua creamic rings, oceanfree media, recently crazed marine pure stuffs, ehiem medias , etc. which i find them pretty good and decent.

- like i always say, house is still house, luxury house vs normal looking house, still a place that can stay. always better than no house.
good advice. up you!
beepoobee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +9. The time now is 10:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2000-2008 Arofanatics.com (Since 30th August 2000)