Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums  

Go Back   Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums > General Aquatic Forums > Freshwater Invertebrates Forum

Old 02-11-2008, 01:56 PM   #1
zyblack
Arofanatic

Default Sharing my turtles' new pellet diet.

I have been feeding all sorts of pellet food for my turtles since I got them 3 years ago. I started with cheap Oxxxn Free stuff which turns out to contain loads of unneeded food colouring and rather indigestible since the poo turns whatever shade of colour the pellets are.

Then I move on to a unknown brand which is very green in colour but seems to work fine for pets until the shop I purchase from stop ordering them and the stock ran out. I start feeding Raffy P for a while is pretty good though rather expensive. During this period, certain pits on my turtle's shell starting to heal and patch up.

I finally moved on to feeding Hikari Turtle Stick which I find the best among the lot tested so far. The amount of waste is considerably less when compared to the rest of the pellets and is pretty obvious on the filter wool I used for filtration. Going at 4-5 bucks for a 53g pack is alright since I have only 2 turtles and feeding is light mixed with romaine lettuce on alternate days.

But then after reading some articles on the web with regards to soy meal and observing the breeding pattern of my fish fed with soy-based food, I decided to throw out all food containing soy meal and that includes New Life Spectrum and the Hikari Turtle Sticks. I may be paranoid but I see too much evidence to be a coincidence.

Okay so after all that long talk, I shall now introduce my turtles' current new pellet diet.

After much research and price comparison, I have settled on 2 products from Hikari which I find give me the most value-for-money and nutritional value for my turtles.

Hikari Wheat Germ (for Koi)