Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums  

Go Back   Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums > Arowana Forum > Tank set-ups, Filtration & Water Management

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-03-2014, 08:46 PM   #11
thor
Arofanatic
 
thor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 349
Default

hi all i am new to arowana hobby
my new tank is 5x2.5x2 with sump tank
to cycle the water 1 month, with biohomme plus and momotaro and sea shells
will it be good enough?
can guide me
i really keen to know
regards
thor
thor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2014, 08:59 PM   #12
BubbleBubble
Senior Dragon
 
BubbleBubble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4,401
Default

Now can instant like everything else. If u like check with lfs.
BubbleBubble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2014, 09:01 PM   #13
BubbleBubble
Senior Dragon
 
BubbleBubble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4,401
Default Beginner's Reference - New Tank Syndrome

If u r asking whether media good enough or not I'll tell u even a an old filter wool enough to fit air driven box filter enough soil nitrogen bacteria... when u change water enough water every week... in any case u will do if u wan healthy faster growing aro swimming in ur tank.
BubbleBubble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 09:22 PM   #14
thor
Arofanatic
 
thor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 349
Default

hi all
i have been running my new tank for almostr 2 weeks plus
i suing wizz fast cycle solution, 2 large pleco and 1 fei feng
currently ph is 7.5 ammonia is 0 ppm and nitrate is 2 to 5
is my water ok?
any advise
cheers
thor
thor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2014, 07:43 PM   #15
leo lim
Dragon
 
leo lim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 661
Default

If my tank is 3ft tank and intend to use only ohf with wools and not other media. Still have to cycle tank to build up good bacteria?
ie intend to use only mechanical filtration.
I wants to keep Gold fishes.

Last Friday setup new tank and added anti-chlorine. Today added some GF and most of them all stay restless at the bottom...one is floating....
leo lim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2014, 01:50 PM   #16
KiwiChew
Arofanatic
 
KiwiChew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 230
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by leo lim View Post
If my tank is 3ft tank and intend to use only ohf with wools and not other media. Still have to cycle tank to build up good bacteria?
ie intend to use only mechanical filtration.
I wants to keep Gold fishes.

Last Friday setup new tank and added anti-chlorine. Today added some GF and most of them all stay restless at the bottom...one is floating....
Wool generally serves to provide only mechanical filtration though it can also provide some form of bio filtration if unwashed for a month. But you should really consider getting proper media like biohomme plus+ to culture BB which is essential for establishing the nitrogen cycle.

Your Gold fishes are probably dying from ammonia poisoning as there are no established BB yet to convert ammonia to nitrite...and remember to dechlorinate your tap water as they will kill your BBs. You may use Seachem Prime to achieve that.

Do read up on how to setup nitrogen cycle for new tanks. Its a must for all freshwater fishes especially gold fishes which are extremely fragile...
KiwiChew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2014, 01:45 PM   #17
ongchi8
Arofanatic
 
ongchi8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 60
Default

rest my 6ft x 3ft x 2ft tank yesterday.. putting all new medias in the sump

i put new water in the tank with ph is about 8.2ph

why is it in the 2nd day of cycle.. the ph become 9.0?

is this normal?
ongchi8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2014, 06:00 PM   #18
mengyang_neo
Arofanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 365
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ongchi8 View Post
rest my 6ft x 3ft x 2ft tank yesterday.. putting all new medias in the sump

i put new water in the tank with ph is about 8.2ph

why is it in the 2nd day of cycle.. the ph become 9.0?

is this normal?
I assume u are using bio home? New bio home will push up the ph. After a few days the ph will slowly drop.
mengyang_neo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2014, 06:08 PM   #19
Oneiromancer
Dragon
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,613
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ongchi8 View Post
rest my 6ft x 3ft x 2ft tank yesterday.. putting all new medias in the sump

i put new water in the tank with ph is about 8.2ph

why is it in the 2nd day of cycle.. the ph become 9.0?

is this normal?
What media did you put in the sump? Was there coral/oyster shells?
Oneiromancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2014, 09:29 PM   #20
ongchi8
Arofanatic
 
ongchi8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 60
Default

im using mr aqua ceramic rings...
ongchi8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +9. The time now is 11:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2000-2008 Arofanatics.com (Since 30th August 2000)