Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums  

Go Back   Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums > General Aquatic Forums > Goldfish & Koi Forum

Old 25-01-2016, 12:59 AM   #1
planter
Arofanatic

Default Newbie on ranchus

Hi guys, I just started keeping ranchus and I need some advise from the experts here. Some intro about myself on fish keeping. I have been keeping fish for about 20 over years, I started with parrot fish then planted tanks and the last 10 years I been keeping aros. This is first time I keeping goldfish or ranchus in my fish keeping journey, I hope bros here can help and give advise to a ranchu newbie here. Firstly lets start with water, I know aging water is important but for ranchu, which requires water change frequently. How long do we need to age water? I intend to have water change every other day with only 30%. With this routine, I will only be aging the water for 2 days is it good enough?
P.S. I am keeping 3 ranchus in a 2ft tank with only sponge filter.
planter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2016, 02:02 AM   #2
patclay
Dragon

It's good enough. Feeding needs to exercise cautions. Don't feed too much otherwise the water will turn fowl quite soon.
patclay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2016, 09:38 AM   #3
planter
Arofanatic

Thanks Patclay for the advise. The next question is about food. Should I get floating or sinking pallets for them. I remember I read from somewhere floating pallets may cause swim bladder problem ?
Old 25-01-2016, 08:55 PM   #4
dafei

Quote:
Originally Posted by planter View Post
Thanks Patclay for the advise. The next question is about food. Should I get floating or sinking pallets for them. I remember I read from somewhere floating pallets may cause swim bladder problem ?
Use sinking pallets. Hikari not bad.
dafei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2016, 11:13 AM   #5
streetsmart73

Hi there !!! 123

Thumbs up

bro, good water parameters is fundamental

I have been performing wc daily for my comets