Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums  

Go Back   Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums > General Aquatic Forums > AroReefers

Old 15-11-2005, 09:48 PM   #1
clown

Default newbie on-the-road

dear brothers,

another newbie here have been keeping freshwater fishes for at least 6 years and now i am exploring the new challenge into marine.

i have been reading the posts from here to prepare myself and my future tank. have converted my 4ft fw tank to marine last month - still cycling with live rocks. my intention is to keep my tank simple - at least for the time being going for one-species clownfish-only tank with no coral first...and definitely no anemones

parameter update as on today:
NH3/NH4: 0
NO2: 0
NO3: 10
PH: 7.5

though my 1st post, i have 2 curious questions:

1) if the NO3 is going to remain about 10 in the future, is that good enough to keep corals - just mushrooms, buttons and lps?

2) i always thot that if the water has the right salt level, the PH will be normal. read somewhere that PH should be 8.0 - 8.4, why is mine so low - only 7.5 ? tested twice same result - but tested but in the evening.

thank you so much for reading the post

regards,
clown
Old 15-11-2005, 10:10 PM   #2
KaLiB

Quote:
1) if the NO3 is going to remain about 10 in the future, is that good enough to keep corals - just mushrooms, buttons and lps?
For mushrooms and buttons, 10ppm of nitrates won't be a problem. Not sure about LPS. However, without proper systems in place, nitrates are definitely going to rise once you add in fishes.
Old 15-11-2005, 10:12 PM   #3
clown

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaLiB
For mushrooms and buttons, 10ppm of nitrates won't be a problem. Not sure about LPS. However, without proper systems in place, nitrates are definitely going to rise once you add in fishes.
thanks i am using a weipro 2011 skimmer now, do hope to see the NO3 drops further. will try to add in the fishes slowly, allow the tank time to handle the bioload.
Old 15-11-2005, 10:33 PM   #4
decentkid

Quote: