Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums  

Go Back   Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums > General Aquatic Forums > AroReefers

Old 13-10-2005, 02:43 PM   #1
whiteice

Default To All Seahorse Lovers

Dear all,

I'm interested in starting a 2ft cube seahorse tank. Although I have been in touch with marine tanks, it's my first time dealing with seahorses so all input is much appreciated.

Can seahorses be kept with other fish and shrimp like cleaner/fire shrimps and anteas and chromies? Was thinking it would look kind of bare if the seahorses were alone. Any special vegetation that seahorses need to survive?

Also, do you need a skimmer if there are no corals in the tank?

Thanks
Old 13-10-2005, 05:19 PM   #2
optimus prime

best kept seahorse only tank. seahorse are not like kranji horse. they are super slow.so feeding is a problem if mixe with others(unless they are super slow too)
Old 13-10-2005, 05:35 PM   #3
IKI

Any idea sg where got sell seahorse?
Old 13-10-2005, 08:07 PM   #4
KaLiB

Quote:
Can seahorses be kept with other fish and shrimp like cleaner/fire shrimps and anteas and chromies? Was thinking it would look kind of bare if the seahorses were alone.
Its best to keep seahorses alone as they are very slow in movement like what bro optimus has mentioned. Reason being, before they can reach their food, faster moving livestock like fish would have eaten the food and in the long run the seahorse would be deprived of food and die of hunger.

Quote:
Also, do you need a skimmer if there are no corals in the tank?
Nope, though it would be good to have one if budget allows. A skimmer would help improve overall water quality.
Old 31-10-2005, 04:41 AM   #5
Terryz_

Seahorse requires a tall tank for them to swim as they swim vertically more than horizontally...
As for the equipments, a skimmer, proper filtration is a must... Chiller is optional if you can keep the water under 28C...
As for lighting a normal FL will suffice...