Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums  

Go Back   Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums > Arowana Forum > Arowana Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 14-12-2015, 09:52 PM   #1
mkchoy
User Under Moderation
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 16
Rep Power: 0
mkchoy may have some misunderstanding with others
Reputation: 2
Default

Hi all Shifu ...

Newbie here and just started keeping 3 little arowana. ...

Comm tank with Tinfoil Barb as tankmate ...


Last edited by Dave57; 14-12-2015 at 10:22 PM.
mkchoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-2015, 10:28 PM   #2
streetsmart73

Hi there !!! 123
 
streetsmart73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3,841
Rep Power: 5
streetsmart73 is a famous personalitystreetsmart73 is a famous personalitystreetsmart73 is a famous personalitystreetsmart73 is a famous personalitystreetsmart73 is a famous personalitystreetsmart73 is a famous personalitystreetsmart73 is a famous personalitystreetsmart73 is a famous personalitystreetsmart73 is a famous personalitystreetsmart73 is a famous personality
Reputation: 1446
Default

Bro, welcome to af.

In no time, your 3 aros will outgrow the 422
streetsmart73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-2015, 10:45 PM   #3
AngryMan
Senior Dragon
 
AngryMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4,323
Rep Power: 6
AngryMan is a famous personalityAngryMan is a famous personalityAngryMan is a famous personalityAngryMan is a famous personalityAngryMan is a famous personalityAngryMan is a famous personalityAngryMan is a famous personalityAngryMan is a famous personalityAngryMan is a famous personalityAngryMan is a famous personalityAngryMan is a famous personality
Reputation: 1710
Default

Welcome to af. 4x2x2 might not able to accommodate them as they grow bigger.
AngryMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2015, 02:26 AM   #4
patclay
Dragon
 
patclay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 2,519
Rep Power: 6
patclay is well received in the communitypatclay is well received in the communitypatclay is well received in the communitypatclay is well received in the communitypatclay is well received in the communitypatclay is well received in the communitypatclay is well received in the community
Reputation: 713
Default

Nice and cute.
patclay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2015, 09:51 AM   #5
mkchoy
User Under Moderation
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 16
Rep Power: 0
mkchoy may have some misunderstanding with others
Reputation: 2
Default

Thanks for all the warm welcoming and the compliments ...

Just to check, will it better / faster to cycle the tank with "used" media ???

Is it safe to put in used media for tank with existing Aro ???

And I would like to apologies here first, as I'm newbie into keeping Aro, I may (for sure, actually) to have LOTS of questions coming ...
mkchoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2015, 10:05 AM   #6
albertlow
Arofanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 165
Rep Power: 3
albertlow is neutral, pH7
Reputation: 61
Default

Welcome to the Aro keeping, it will be faster to cycle the tank with used media and at the same time pour in new BB.
albertlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2015, 10:49 AM   #7
mkchoy
User Under Moderation
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 16
Rep Power: 0
mkchoy may have some misunderstanding with others
Reputation: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by albertlow View Post
Welcome to the Aro keeping, it will be faster to cycle the tank with used media and at the same time pour in new BB.
Hi there ... Thanks for the advise ...
Sorry, how to pour in new BB ???
mkchoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2015, 10:59 AM   #8
Arosub
Dragon
 
Arosub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 778
Rep Power: 3
Arosub has many friendsArosub has many friendsArosub has many friends
Reputation: 229
Default

For BB, you may purchase commercial BB from the shops.

But three aros in 422 , in half a year , you need to change tank
Arosub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2015, 11:01 AM   #9
ren_hao
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 43
Rep Power: 0
ren_hao is neutral, pH7
Reputation: 29
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mkchoy View Post
Hi there ... Thanks for the advise ...
Sorry, how to pour in new BB ???
Get those off-the-shelf BB. Than pour the directed amount onto your media, if it not possible, than direct into the tank water

I presume that your tank is not cycled yet. You might want to do more frequent WC to control the ammonia and nitrite levels.
ren_hao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2015, 11:13 AM   #10
Arosub
Dragon
 
Arosub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 778
Rep Power: 3
Arosub has many friendsArosub has many friendsArosub has many friends
Reputation: 229
Default

By the way , reduce the number of fishes if you can. Your bioload seems too high a tank of that size unless your medias are fully packed!
Arosub is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
422, newbie, tkl


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +9. The time now is 05:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2000-2008 Arofanatics.com (Since 30th August 2000)