Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums  

Go Back   Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums > Arowana Forum > Tank set-ups, Filtration & Water Management

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 29-04-2021, 04:02 PM   #1
joshdway
Arofanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 153
Default Does made in china, generic brand water parameter test stripes work?

I have recently seen some made in china test stripes that are just a fraction of the costs of what API charges.

Somemore, it is 6 or 7 in one.

Am just thinking if it is accurate.
Any bros here who tried and have feedback to share?

some examples include:

https://shopee.sg/%E3%80%90-guaguafu...453.7961023201

https://shopee.sg/%E3%80%90chendujia...586.3843529915
joshdway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2021, 06:17 PM   #2
CZQ
Arofanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 290
Default

Can compare with api. No ammonia though.
CZQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2021, 05:00 PM   #3
joshdway
Arofanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 153
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CZQ View Post
Can compare with api. No ammonia though.
if it is comparable, that's good news
can help us hobbyists save some costs

but can explain with is testing of ammonia important?
the nitrogen cycle is :
poop -> ammonia -> nitrite -> nitrate

if we test and there's no nitrate, isnt that conclusive enough?
joshdway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2021, 03:31 PM   #4
CZQ
Arofanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 290
Default

Can get and compare with api results and cost per test. To me ph and ammonia are more important. Cant be no nitrate.
CZQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2021, 07:43 PM   #5
Squid
Endangered Dragon
 
Squid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 8,036
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joshdway View Post
if it is comparable, that's good news
can help us hobbyists save some costs

but can explain with is testing of ammonia important?
the nitrogen cycle is :
poop -> ammonia -> nitrite -> nitrate

if we test and there's no nitrate, isnt that conclusive enough?
what you don't want in your tank is ammonia and nitrite.
it is deadly to fish, nitrate is not as bad as ammonia and nitrite.
so ammonia and nitrite test kit would be more important for me.
Squid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2021, 12:39 PM   #6
joshdway
Arofanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 153
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squid View Post
what you don't want in your tank is ammonia and nitrite.
it is deadly to fish, nitrate is not as bad as ammonia and nitrite.
so ammonia and nitrite test kit would be more important for me.
got it, thanks!
joshdway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2021, 06:37 AM   #7
SantaMonicaHelp
Arofanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 115
Default

China strips are ok as long as you are just needing basic yes/no results. And for freshwater that's probably ok except for sensitive fish, or planted.
SantaMonicaHelp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +9. The time now is 07:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2000-2008 Arofanatics.com (Since 30th August 2000)