Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums  

Go Back   Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums > General Aquatic Forums > Planted Tanks & Aquascaping Forum > Aquascaping Showcase / Journals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 15-04-2011, 05:19 PM   #51
JadeIceGreen
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Ooo. Very nice. I'll keep discus if I have a tank your size.
What is your ppm for Co2?
  Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2011, 07:43 PM   #52
EvolutionZ
Endangered Dragon
 
EvolutionZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 8,566
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JadeIceGreen View Post
Ooo. Very nice. I'll keep discus if I have a tank your size.
What is your ppm for Co2?
Thanks bro.. i actually did this set up mainly for altums.. still waiting for the season to arrive...

As for co2, drop checker shows yellowish-green.. i like to keep co2 on the high side.. but of course, i make sure my wave maker is pointed upwards to provide more surface agitation...
EvolutionZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2011, 01:30 AM   #53
JadeIceGreen
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvolutionZ View Post
Thanks bro.. i actually did this set up mainly for altums.. still waiting for the season to arrive...

As for co2, drop checker shows yellowish-green.. i like to keep co2 on the high side.. but of course, i make sure my wave maker is pointed upwards to provide more surface agitation...
I need your advice on this.
As you know, I will be using Co2 on my new tank. Should I depend on a drop checker to gauge my Co2 or calculate PH and KH? I am apprehensive of a drop checker because of the delayed reaction. The last thing I want to do is to kill my Corydoras.

We are alike in many ways. A preferable for surface agitation and strong filtration.
  Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2011, 10:33 PM   #54
EvolutionZ
Endangered Dragon
 
EvolutionZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 8,566
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JadeIceGreen View Post
I need your advice on this.
As you know, I will be using Co2 on my new tank. Should I depend on a drop checker to gauge my Co2 or calculate PH and KH? I am apprehensive of a drop checker because of the delayed reaction. The last thing I want to do is to kill my Corydoras.

We are alike in many ways. A preferable for surface agitation and strong filtration.
are you gonna use pH altering soil? if yes, pH/kH chart will be useless.. you can only rely on a drop checker with a 4dKh solution.. with good surface agitation, more o2 get exchanged compared to the loss of co2.. so i guess its better to lose abit co2 to gain alot more o2 for your fishes... my 422 is at around 4bps FYI.. sounds very little but my drop checker is showing yellowish-green and plants show no signs of lacking co2 though..
EvolutionZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2011, 10:41 PM   #55
cheetf
Dragon
 
cheetf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,138
Default

Well done! Tank coming along nicely.

Got a few questions, any regrets getting a 4 X 2 X 2? Was it difficult to plant? Would have a 1.5 high tank been easier to plant?
cheetf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2011, 10:52 PM   #56
EvolutionZ
Endangered Dragon
 
EvolutionZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 8,566
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cheetf View Post
Well done! Tank coming along nicely.

Got a few questions, any regrets getting a 4 X 2 X 2? Was it difficult to plant? Would have a 1.5 high tank been easier to plant?
Hey bro, Thanks.. hmm.. totally no regrets bro.. first thing first, you can keep lots of varient of plants without having the *messy* look.. you can keep kings of the planted world(aka altums and discus) without worrying about space and overall, its much more easier to manage..

But.. do remember that you need to spend quite alot in 1 shot.. Long term will be fertilizers.. so go for Dry form if you can.. Another issue would be rescaping.. people who know me would know that i likes to rescape my 2ft tank in the past.. But today, with this huge 422.. i doubt i will rescape it before it reaches 1 year old.. simply too troublesome to rescape..
EvolutionZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2011, 11:03 PM   #57
cheetf
Dragon
 
cheetf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,138
Default

Thinking of upgrading my old 3 footer to a 4 footer. Just not sure if i am ready to go diving to do planting. Hehehe...getting old liao.

The other issue is a chiller, I find that my plants grow much nicer at a temperature of about 26C-27C and I have to trim it much less. Getting a chiller for a 4X2X2 would be pretty expensive, not to mention the running cost. What temp can you achieve with your fans or are you running a chiller too?

About the rescaping part I am pretty okay with it as I usually change my scape only every 6 months or so. Maybe now it can just be a year like you.
cheetf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2011, 11:08 PM   #58
EvolutionZ
Endangered Dragon
 
EvolutionZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 8,566
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cheetf View Post
Thinking of upgrading my old 3 footer to a 4 footer. Just not sure if i am ready to go diving to do planting. Hehehe...getting old liao.

The other issue is a chiller, I find that my plants grow much nicer at a temperature of about 26C-27C and I have to trim it much less. Getting a chiller for a 4X2X2 would be pretty expensive, not to mention the running cost. What temp can you achieve with your fans or are you running a chiller too?

About the rescaping part I am pretty okay with it as I usually change my scape only every 6 months or so. Maybe now it can just be a year like you.
my plants grow just as nice with 27C.. i uses 2 dymax small fan to chill my tank..
EvolutionZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2011, 11:12 PM   #59
cheetf
Dragon
 
cheetf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,138
Default

Nice. Thanks for the info. Keep up the good work!
cheetf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2011, 12:04 AM   #60
JadeIceGreen
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvolutionZ View Post
are you gonna use pH altering soil? if yes, pH/kH chart will be useless.. you can only rely on a drop checker with a 4dKh solution.. with good surface agitation, more o2 get exchanged compared to the loss of co2.. so i guess its better to lose abit co2 to gain alot more o2 for your fishes... my 422 is at around 4bps FYI.. sounds very little but my drop checker is showing yellowish-green and plants show no signs of lacking co2 though..
Nope, I will be using sand. I know the ph/kh calculation does not work with substrate like Amazonia. Thanks for letting me know your Co2 setup, I think I will start my cube at about 1 bps.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +9. The time now is 05:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2000-2008 Arofanatics.com (Since 30th August 2000)