Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums  

Go Back   Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums > Arowana Forum > Tank set-ups, Filtration & Water Management

Old 07-06-2016, 12:48 PM   #1
Calsberg
Dragon

Default Piston vs diaphragm based air pumps

Hi bros / sis

I have been using a diaphragm based air pump my entire life as an aquatic hobbyist. My most recent air pumps were the Sonic Hiblow P-45 series which served me well in terms of output. I just got tired of replacing burst / torn diaphragm which seems to happen a bit too regularly for my liking.

Anyway, I purchased a Hailea ACQ-318 air 'compressor' which is piston based.

I am totally new to this.

I would appreciate any insights or advice from anyone on the 'dos and dont' for this compressor including any thoughts on servicing required for optimal pump operation. FYI, I'm comfortable to take things apart and assemble them back (just that I wont do it on a new unit).

As usual, any assistance will be reciprocated with upz (if you didnt get it means I need distribute to others before coming back to you). Many thanks !

Cheerz
Calsberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2016, 05:13 PM   #2
sirwin81
Senior Dragon

how is the sound like? i was considering a bigger model ACO 380 but then was told the sound is quite loud. so ended up going for hailea hap120
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calsberg View Post
Hi bros / sis

I have been using a diaphragm based air pump my entire life as an aquatic hobbyist. My most recent air pumps were the Sonic Hiblow P-45 series which served me well in terms of output. I just got tired of replacing burst / torn diaphragm which seems to happen a bit too regularly for my liking.

Anyway, I purchased a Hailea ACQ-318 air 'compressor' which is piston based.

I am totally new to this.