Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums  

Go Back   Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums > General Aquatic Forums > AroReefers > Product Reviews

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 24-08-2004, 06:31 PM   #11
nim75sg
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sherman
Bro,
What is this equipment?
Is it a FR?

Regards
Sherman
Like Ekia said .. it is a Fludized Reactor.

This is an optional item to your marine equipment where you can place your chemical filtration media like Rowa, Chemi-Pure, Phos-Ban, Silicate Remover, etc inside the cannister.

Water is fed thru the cannister via a small pump having low flowrate to provide slow flow through the media for the ultimate efficiency of the media.

However, you still can place it in the sump (like I do) in the return department without this FR but must ensure water is constantly flowing thru the media ie not soaking in the water.
  Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2004, 06:32 PM   #12
nim75sg
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by strat
Is there a rubber gasket in the cover to prevent any leaks?
Obviously sure got protection otherwise the water will leaks out mah ...
  Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2004, 10:12 PM   #13
nim75sg
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Here is the pic of the transparent hose connected to the outlet at one end and the other end using the compatible hosing size of 5/8".

Will take readings of the Phosphate level this weekend before placing the Rowa in the Reactor.
  Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2004, 12:26 AM   #14
devilfire
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

bought mine today.. kenny advised 2 do some mod 2 it. will post pics in my gallery over the next 2 days.
still dun know how 2 upload pic here..
  Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2004, 08:11 PM   #15
nim75sg
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Great ... so we can share ideas together.

Lim Kopi ....
  Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2004, 11:50 PM   #16
devilfire
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nim75sg
Great ... so we can share ideas together.

Lim Kopi ....

told u already.. mai tu liao
  Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-2004, 11:32 PM   #17
nim75sg
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Finally, I managed to find a small empty bottle of Chemi-Pure and I drilled the center hole of the same diameter of the FR inlet plastic pipe in addition to all holes.

Pics show the mod cap (1" thick) with holes drilled and the test kit used together with Rowa.

Bottom pic shows the mod inside the FR ...
  Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-2004, 11:36 PM   #18
nim75sg
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

This pic shows the completed setup with Rowa inside the FR and the water is pump from a Eheim Compact 600 at its lowest level.
  Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-2004, 11:44 PM   #19
nim75sg
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

IMO, it will still works without the mod cap placing at the bottom of the Reactor but to what efficiency level is everyone guess. Since as suggested by Bio-Ocean to have the mod, the Reactor should works at its optinium efficiency.

Prior to applying some juice to the Reactor, the tank was left without any phosphate media for about 10 days with the same feed timings, number of feeds and dosing of phytophlankton remain unchanged.

This is to ensure the least parameters changes to gauge how how efficient the Reactor with Rowa would be.

The phosphate level measured is at 1.0 today at about 8:30pm and will check again tomoro same timing.

Now we just have to wait ...... Stay tuned.
  Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-2004, 11:46 PM   #20
Ekia
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nim75sg
IMO, it will still works without the mod cap placing at the bottom of the Reactor but to what efficiency level is everyone guess. Since as suggested by Bio-Ocean to have the mod, the Reactor should works at its optinium efficiency.

Prior to applying some juice to the Reactor, the tank was left without any phosphate media for about 10 days with the same feed timings, number of feeds and dosing of phytophlankton remain unchanged.

This is to ensure the least parameters changes to gauge how how efficient the Reactor with Rowa would be.

The phosphate level measured is at 1.0 today at about 8:30pm and will check again tomoro same timing.

Now we just have to wait ...... Stay tuned.

phosphate level at 1.0mg/l?? Just 10 days without any phosphate removal and it climbed so high? wow!!

Let me guess... 24hrs later.. it will be... 0.2mg/l? hehe
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +9. The time now is 07:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2000-2008 Arofanatics.com (Since 30th August 2000)