Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums  

Go Back   Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums > The Guildhouse > Aquatic Showcase & Photography > Aquatic Photography

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-04-2007, 11:59 AM   #11
bsplenden
Senior Dragon
 
bsplenden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 3,362
Rep Power: 8
bsplenden is a famous personalitybsplenden is a famous personalitybsplenden is a famous personalitybsplenden is a famous personalitybsplenden is a famous personalitybsplenden is a famous personalitybsplenden is a famous personalitybsplenden is a famous personalitybsplenden is a famous personality
Reputation: 1117
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amiidae View Post
you may need to go for wireless slave flash but it is gonna be an expensive solution.

Alternatevely, try the followings :

have as many tank lights as possible,
set your camera to Manual mode,
push up the ISO reading,
set the speed at 1/80 & F 5.6

However, don't expect the pix to be as sharp as compered to those shot taken with flash.
i tried pushing the ISO. but it gets noisy.

i think i'll invest in a slave flash. i'll not be buying another camera in a long time anyway.

thanks for the suggestions!
bsplenden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2007, 04:56 PM   #12
amiidae
Moderator
 
amiidae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 7,137
Rep Power: 8
amiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personality
Reputation: 1568
Default

do you mean grainy or noisy ?

Took this shot without flash in underwater world Sentosa today

ISO 400, F 2 or 2.2 & 1/80 or 1/100 (cant really remember)

__________________
MY ALL-NEW --> AMIIDAE.COM BLOG


Last edited by amiidae; 07-04-2007 at 11:46 AM. Reason: typo in F & speed
amiidae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2007, 02:34 AM   #13
bsplenden
Senior Dragon
 
bsplenden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 3,362
Rep Power: 8
bsplenden is a famous personalitybsplenden is a famous personalitybsplenden is a famous personalitybsplenden is a famous personalitybsplenden is a famous personalitybsplenden is a famous personalitybsplenden is a famous personalitybsplenden is a famous personalitybsplenden is a famous personality
Reputation: 1117
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amiidae View Post
do you mean grainy or noisy ?

Took this shot without flash in underwater world Sentosa today

ISO 400, 1/80 & F 80 or 100 (cant really remember)
I thought grainy and noisy means the same thing?



I got this picture at Shutter 1/160, F2.7, ISO 800.
2ft tank with a 55W PL light.

Noisy/Grainy huh? Did I do something wrong?
bsplenden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2007, 12:15 PM   #14
amiidae
Moderator
 
amiidae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 7,137
Rep Power: 8
amiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personality
Reputation: 1568
Default

in this case, they are the same.

try a few settings :

ISO at 200 to 400 or you may want to try at 100
Reduce speed to 1/80 to 1/125
F setting may stay at 2.+
set your pix format to the largest size
make sure that your subject is in focus
__________________
MY ALL-NEW --> AMIIDAE.COM BLOG

amiidae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-10-2007, 11:48 PM   #15
Titus
Senior Dragon
 
Titus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,184
Rep Power: 4
Titus has many friendsTitus has many friendsTitus has many friendsTitus has many friends
Reputation: 393
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amiidae View Post
you may need to go for wireless slave flash but it is gonna be an expensive solution.
Am using a Canon A640.

How much would a wireless slave flash damage be like? Can recommend a decent model?

Kam Siah
Titus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-10-2008, 11:22 AM   #16
amiidae
Moderator
 
amiidae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 7,137
Rep Power: 8
amiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personality
Reputation: 1568
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Titus View Post
Am using a Canon A640.

How much would a wireless slave flash damage be like? Can recommend a decent model?

Kam Siah

There are slave flash that can be triggered by another flash.

I think Sunpak (Sunpak Remote Lite II Flash) has such model that cost abt S$70 to S$90 but it is quite a small set and you need to put a deflector on your built in flash to trigger.

Very tedious process and you don't get 100% success in triggering. That's the problem when your cam does not have a hot shoe.
__________________
MY ALL-NEW --> AMIIDAE.COM BLOG

amiidae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2008, 11:18 PM   #17
sanguosiao
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

sorry, i not beri gd in photo taking, intend to get one decent dat can take clear pic of my aro, any recomend (cheap, good, easy to use)? got 1 normal sony digital cam always take pic blur blur one...sighzz
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2008, 03:38 PM   #18
Apteronotidae
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Try the canon G10.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2008, 03:44 PM   #19
sanguosiao
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apteronotidae View Post
Try the canon G10.
high range? cost ard?
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2008, 03:45 PM   #20
marshy

Senior Moderator
 
marshy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 5,710
Rep Power: 8
marshy is well received in the communitymarshy is well received in the communitymarshy is well received in the communitymarshy is well received in the communitymarshy is well received in the communitymarshy is well received in the communitymarshy is well received in the community
Reputation: 710
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sanguosiao View Post
high range? cost ard?
Should retail around $7xx
marshy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +9. The time now is 05:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2000-2008 Arofanatics.com (Since 30th August 2000)