Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums  

Go Back   Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums > General Aquatic Forums > AroReefers

Old 16-04-2012, 02:29 PM   #1
Aces
Arofanatic

Default Novice Startup

I failed last time due to water issue. Feel like starting a small one.

Nano Tank - IQ5
1. Is the filter ok?
2. Is the led light enough, and how long I need to on per day, likely will be a FOWLR tank.
3. Need skimmer?
Hydrometer - Those with swing arms
Test kit - I don't really know about this. Any simple to use dummy kit available?
Live sand and Live rock
Water - First time round will get from aquarium, sub will ownself mix
destilled water with marine salt. I still don't understand what is R/O water and where to get those.

Fish introduction and coral will be at a more later stage. Maybe just 2 or 3 fishes in it. No intention to overstock since my intention is to start up a basic set to get a feel of things before moving on to bigger project in future. As I mentioned i'm a novice so please don't bash me if I wrote something silly.
Aces is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2012, 03:33 PM   #2
ethanleow
Dragon

bro actually small one harder to maintain. i tried it with my fw nano, although quite successful but very tiring.. more frequent wc, more testing.
ethanleow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2012, 03:57 PM   #3
ethanleow
Dragon

petfran ph pen and api test kits are simple to use.. hydrometer swingarm type abit difficult to use.
Old 16-04-2012, 05:36 PM   #4
marine_lover

The smaller the harder in maintain the water condition. Just a slight swing in water perimeter, fishes and coral's health will easily be affected.

My personnel experience for IQ5 is the light is not strong enough for coral and the return pump is weak too..! I knew it because I have just torn down my IQ5 last week and on the way setting up my 1.5ft cube !
Old 16-04-2012, 05:56 PM   #5
ethanleow
Dragon

if i were to use a additional pump for IQ5, what pump would u recommend??
Old 16-04-2012, 08:19 PM   #6