Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums  

Go Back   Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums > General Aquatic Forums > Planted Tanks & Aquascaping Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-01-2007, 12:58 PM   #1
lightedmouse
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Filtration in a Plant Tank

Hi all

Was wondering if its necessary to on the filter of a planted tank if theres no fishes or shrimp in there?

thanks in advance
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2007, 01:30 PM   #2
Shad0w
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I think it is not necessary, but you might want to add water pump to circulate CO2 and other fert in the tank
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2007, 01:36 PM   #3
lightedmouse
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

if i dont have co2 then can dun on the filter?

was thinking of removing the filter of my tank when theres no fish since inside my filter is ceramic rings only.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2007, 04:08 PM   #4
RHX
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I think it'll be more advisable to have a filter or some form of pump to circulating the water. If you don't have fishes in the tank & the water is stagnant, you could be running a risk of breeding mosquitos.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2007, 04:26 PM   #5
lightedmouse
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

thanks for your input bro
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2007, 04:37 PM   #6
Shad0w
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RHX View Post
I think it'll be more advisable to have a filter or some form of pump to circulating the water. If you don't have fishes in the tank & the water is stagnant, you could be running a risk of breeding mosquitos.
even with filter mosquito will still breed there happily . Happen to my tank during cycle, so endup buy put 1 fish just to control it.

Last edited by Shad0w; 12-01-2007 at 04:43 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2007, 04:42 PM   #7
lightedmouse
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

u think without filter and 1 small fish to eat the larva possible. I am hoping to remove the unsightly filter if possible. Was think plants only mah, maybe dont need 1.

i dunno, what do you guys reckon
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2007, 05:04 PM   #8
greentea13
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

plant need water circulation to exchange minerals and waste..should hav at least a pump..
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2007, 06:12 PM   #9
wilsonawt
Arofanatic
 
wilsonawt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 414
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lightedmouse View Post
Hi all

Was wondering if its necessary to on the filter of a planted tank if theres no fishes or shrimp in there?

thanks in advance
Circulation also helops circulate O2 and prevent the build up of excess CO2 during night time. also the mozzie thingy which most bro mentioned.
wilsonawt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2007, 06:42 PM   #10
|squee|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

It's not necessary, but it is really good to have, mainly because it circulates the water. Stagnant water is never good.

Even my tanks that don't have any pump or filter still get movement through fishes.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +9. The time now is 10:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2000-2008 Arofanatics.com (Since 30th August 2000)