Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums  

Go Back   Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums > General Aquatic Forums > Stingrays & other bottom dwellers Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 18-04-2017, 07:40 PM   #1
thanantosis
Arofanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 63
Rep Power: 1
thanantosis is neutral, pH7
Reputation: 95
Default advices for ray for "newbie"

hi al bros!

been away for more then 7 years.
used to be here often when a RTG is cost 400 plus and a ST cost 25 sg

used to kept a few motoro and some hybr those days with my arowana, st, ff, endi etc

i wanted to get back into this hobby once again and needed some advices

im moving to a new place soon. and have a small pond. about 3ftx16ft.

but only 30cm water depth. filter will be external filled with 5kg biohome.

whats your advice on this for rays? number of them? or is this tank even suitable?

ps: shock to see its so quiet in arofanatics... used to be a busy place

thanks alot bro!
thanantosis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2017, 05:55 PM   #2
Aro77
Dragon
 
Aro77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 723
Rep Power: 2
Aro77 has many friendsAro77 has many friendsAro77 has many friendsAro77 has many friendsAro77 has many friends
Reputation: 431
Default

Hi , firstly ,welcome back to the hobby , for rays , they have a very high bioload. highly doubt a small filter along with 5kg of biohome plus should be able to do the job. Pond size seems good but height is very very less. since you have not got any fishes in there , i would suggest to build up on your pond before putting anything. maybe move the water level up to at least 2ft , this way would be more comfortable for the rays as 11 inches is really shallow and they might not be comfortable in an environment of such. Basically for rays a very important factor is having good water parameters above all. hope this helps. Take Care.
Aro77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2017, 06:00 PM   #3
Aro77
Dragon
 
Aro77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 723
Rep Power: 2
Aro77 has many friendsAro77 has many friendsAro77 has many friendsAro77 has many friendsAro77 has many friends
Reputation: 431
Default

btw forgot to add , another important factor is proper flow rate and circulation for a long pond as yours

Last edited by Aro77; 19-04-2017 at 06:01 PM.
Aro77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2017, 07:05 PM   #4
thanantosis
Arofanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 63
Rep Power: 1
thanantosis is neutral, pH7
Reputation: 95
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aro77 View Post
Hi , firstly ,welcome back to the hobby , for rays , they have a very high bioload. highly doubt a small filter along with 5kg of biohome plus should be able to do the job. Pond size seems good but height is very very less. since you have not got any fishes in there , i would suggest to build up on your pond before putting anything. maybe move the water level up to at least 2ft , this way would be more comfortable for the rays as 11 inches is really shallow and they might not be comfortable in an environment of such. Basically for rays a very important factor is having good water parameters above all. hope this helps. Take Care.
Thanks alot for the long reply bro. Thanks for making the effort. I cant do much for the height as this pond is at the attic. Due to weight issue. I can only hit 30 cm. Thanks for the advice for filter. Yep will increase that a few times .And yes already thought of water flow. Will turn over the water a few cycle in 1 hour! Thats a must for sure. Agreed that height is a great concern. Hai
thanantosis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2017, 11:47 PM   #5
shin chan
Dragon
 
shin chan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 2,717
Rep Power: 5
shin chan has many friendsshin chan has many friendsshin chan has many friendsshin chan has many friendsshin chan has many friends
Reputation: 417
Default

Start with motoro bro. Cheapest. Lol.

Sent from my SM-N920I using Tapatalk
shin chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2017, 12:02 AM   #6
thanantosis
Arofanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 63
Rep Power: 1
thanantosis is neutral, pH7
Reputation: 95
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shin chan View Post
Start with motoro bro. Cheapest. Lol.

Sent from my SM-N920I using Tapatalk
hahah maybe man, start with 2 first see how haha. adpost selling 2 for 50. i shock!
thanantosis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2017, 12:58 AM   #7
shin chan
Dragon
 
shin chan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 2,717
Rep Power: 5
shin chan has many friendsshin chan has many friendsshin chan has many friendsshin chan has many friendsshin chan has many friends
Reputation: 417
Default

Ya. I'm tempted too but no space....

Sent from my SM-N920I using Tapatalk
shin chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2017, 02:05 AM   #8
thanantosis
Arofanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 63
Rep Power: 1
thanantosis is neutral, pH7
Reputation: 95
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shin chan View Post
Ya. I'm tempted too but no space....

Sent from my SM-N920I using Tapatalk
motoro big liao not nice leh ahhahahah very dark.
thanantosis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2017, 01:01 PM   #9
sen_jie
Senior Dragon
 
sen_jie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,306
Rep Power: 7
sen_jie is a famous personalitysen_jie is a famous personalitysen_jie is a famous personalitysen_jie is a famous personalitysen_jie is a famous personalitysen_jie is a famous personalitysen_jie is a famous personalitysen_jie is a famous personality
Reputation: 1068
Default

3ft by 16inch doesnt seems to be a right place to keep rays. These fishes grow really fast from 5inch to 10 inch in a couple of months.
sen_jie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2017, 01:54 PM   #10
Aro77
Dragon
 
Aro77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 723
Rep Power: 2
Aro77 has many friendsAro77 has many friendsAro77 has many friendsAro77 has many friendsAro77 has many friends
Reputation: 431
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sen_jie View Post
3ft by 16inch doesnt seems to be a right place to keep rays. These fishes grow really fast from 5inch to 10 inch in a couple of months.
hey bro , long time man..

think TS pond is 16ft by 3ft by 1ft ( LXBXH )
Aro77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +9. The time now is 08:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2000-2008 Arofanatics.com (Since 30th August 2000)