Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums  

Go Back   Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums > General Aquatic Forums > Stingrays & other bottom dwellers Forum

Adv

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 15-08-2017, 07:39 PM   #1
Squid
Endangered Dragon
 
Squid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 7,952
Rep Power: 8
Squid is a famous personalitySquid is a famous personalitySquid is a famous personalitySquid is a famous personalitySquid is a famous personalitySquid is a famous personalitySquid is a famous personalitySquid is a famous personalitySquid is a famous personalitySquid is a famous personalitySquid is a famous personality
Reputation: 1938
Default Keeping rays with tigers

hi,

I have some Bds which are growing quickly, their tank is getting small
I have some tigers and an aro in my 350 Gal tank.

a little hesitant in moving the bds into the bigger tank , as I'm worried they wont get any food with the tigers in the tank?

or do i pump them all full?
any tips ?

thanks
Squid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2017, 12:20 PM   #2
Aro77

Dragon
 
Aro77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 689
Rep Power: 2
Aro77 has many friendsAro77 has many friendsAro77 has many friendsAro77 has many friendsAro77 has many friends
Reputation: 423
Default

so far touch wood i have had no issues comming tiger with rays unless with the exception for the very large rays occasionally disturbing the tigers. food wise i dont see any issues as i normally throw alot in at once, distributed throughout the tank and this allows everyone in the comm a fair chance to eat.

i guess have to see what sort of filter system are you running on? and is it able to take the big increase in bioload
Aro77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2017, 02:27 PM   #3
Squid
Endangered Dragon
 
Squid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 7,952
Rep Power: 8
Squid is a famous personalitySquid is a famous personalitySquid is a famous personalitySquid is a famous personalitySquid is a famous personalitySquid is a famous personalitySquid is a famous personalitySquid is a famous personalitySquid is a famous personalitySquid is a famous personalitySquid is a famous personality
Reputation: 1938
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aro77 View Post
so far touch wood i have had no issues comming tiger with rays unless with the exception for the very large rays occasionally disturbing the tigers. food wise i dont see any issues as i normally throw alot in at once, distributed throughout the tank and this allows everyone in the comm a fair chance to eat.

i guess have to see what sort of filter system are you running on? and is it able to take the big increase in bioload
thanks bro
my worry is my filtration.
I'm on sump , 6x2 .
media are jap mat, pumice and K1 .
a little worried if filter will be able to handle bio load.
how do i check?

btw i have a king kong parrot in with my tigers will he be a problem for my rays?
Squid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2017, 11:26 PM   #4
shalabin
Dragon
 
shalabin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,484
Rep Power: 3
shalabin has many friendsshalabin has many friendsshalabin has many friendsshalabin has many friends
Reputation: 379
Default

Hi bro,

I have no problems keeping rays with tigers and aros as i kept them tgt since small. But the only concern being that the aros having never to live with rays before might get spooked by the rays during the initial introduction period. You might need to keep a close lookout for jumping cases.

Just my 2 cents.

Cheers and regards
shalabin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2017, 05:19 PM   #5
Squid
Endangered Dragon
 
Squid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 7,952
Rep Power: 8
Squid is a famous personalitySquid is a famous personalitySquid is a famous personalitySquid is a famous personalitySquid is a famous personalitySquid is a famous personalitySquid is a famous personalitySquid is a famous personalitySquid is a famous personalitySquid is a famous personalitySquid is a famous personality
Reputation: 1938
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shalabin View Post
Hi bro,

I have no problems keeping rays with tigers and aros as i kept them tgt since small. But the only concern being that the aros having never to live with rays before might get spooked by the rays during the initial introduction period. You might need to keep a close lookout for jumping cases.

Just my 2 cents.

Cheers and regards
thanks bro I'm hoping my aro is used to sudden movements from my tigers
Squid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2017, 10:12 PM   #6
Aro77

Dragon
 
Aro77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 689
Rep Power: 2
Aro77 has many friendsAro77 has many friendsAro77 has many friendsAro77 has many friendsAro77 has many friends
Reputation: 423
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squid View Post
thanks bro
my worry is my filtration.
I'm on sump , 6x2 .
media are jap mat, pumice and K1 .
a little worried if filter will be able to handle bio load.
how do i check?

btw i have a king kong parrot in with my tigers will he be a problem for my rays?
6 x 2 is a decently sized filter. perhaps add in your BB when rays go in. As for checking , just monitor your PH & ammonia. as u will likely experience a dip in your PH, another would be to possibly detect ammonia until your filter is more established to accommodate to the new bio-load. i guess it is only 3 rays which is really not much compared to your sump size of 6 x 2.
Aro77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2017, 06:40 PM   #7
Squid
Endangered Dragon
 
Squid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 7,952
Rep Power: 8
Squid is a famous personalitySquid is a famous personalitySquid is a famous personalitySquid is a famous personalitySquid is a famous personalitySquid is a famous personalitySquid is a famous personalitySquid is a famous personalitySquid is a famous personalitySquid is a famous personalitySquid is a famous personality
Reputation: 1938
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aro77 View Post
6 x 2 is a decently sized filter. perhaps add in your BB when rays go in. As for checking , just monitor your PH & ammonia. as u will likely experience a dip in your PH, another would be to possibly detect ammonia until your filter is more established to accommodate to the new bio-load. i guess it is only 3 rays which is really not much compared to your sump size of 6 x 2.
thanks bro will try to move them one by one.
Squid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Adv


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +9. The time now is 09:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2000-2008 Arofanatics.com (Since 30th August 2000)