Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums  

Go Back   Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums > Arowana Forum > Tank set-ups, Filtration & Water Management

Adv

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 25-08-2017, 08:08 PM   #1
amiidae
Moderator
 
amiidae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 7,135
Rep Power: 8
amiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personality
Reputation: 1557
Lightbulb How to up keep tank with Aqua soil for fishes only

Hi guys,

Normally we just siphon / stir the gravel or sand for typical tank set up to prevent trapped stuff or bad bacterial build up but how do you maintenance tank with Aquasoil say abt 1.5inch thick (2ft tank) ?

FYI, I am keeping fishes not planted tank.

Thks
__________________
MY ALL-NEW --> AMIIDAE.COM BLOG

amiidae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2017, 08:09 PM   #2
amiidae
Moderator
 
amiidae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 7,135
Rep Power: 8
amiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personality
Reputation: 1557
Default

FYI, I run canister filter for this 40L tank.
__________________
MY ALL-NEW --> AMIIDAE.COM BLOG

amiidae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2017, 02:17 PM   #3
arome
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 22
Rep Power: 0
arome is neutral, pH7
Reputation: 21
Default

I do it the same way but more gently (In-out motion as opposed to a plowing one) as the granules do break down in size. Also do note your mech filtration will "suffer", as in it'll constantly be dark brown regardless of fish waste.
arome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2017, 08:57 PM   #4
onlyyouknow
Senior Dragon
 
onlyyouknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,135
Rep Power: 6
onlyyouknow is a famous personalityonlyyouknow is a famous personalityonlyyouknow is a famous personalityonlyyouknow is a famous personalityonlyyouknow is a famous personalityonlyyouknow is a famous personalityonlyyouknow is a famous personalityonlyyouknow is a famous personalityonlyyouknow is a famous personalityonlyyouknow is a famous personality
Reputation: 1334
Default

Why do you wanna use soil for your fish? If it's for lowering pH, you might wanna try other methods. Less mess and easier to maintain.
onlyyouknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-2017, 08:25 AM   #5
amiidae
Moderator
 
amiidae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 7,135
Rep Power: 8
amiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personality
Reputation: 1557
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by arome View Post
I do it the same way but more gently (In-out motion as opposed to a plowing one) as the granules do break down in size. Also do note your mech filtration will "suffer", as in it'll constantly be dark brown regardless of fish waste.
I see. So practically the same as how we maintain gravel.

Quote:
Originally Posted by onlyyouknow View Post
Why do you wanna use soil for your fish? If it's for lowering pH, you might wanna try other methods. Less mess and easier to maintain.
I am setting up an Asian peat swamp biotope.

Cant use aquarium peat as they dont really sink. So soil is the next best option.



--> https://news.mongabay.com/2014/07/wh...should-i-care/
__________________
MY ALL-NEW --> AMIIDAE.COM BLOG

amiidae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-2017, 11:26 PM   #6
arome
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 22
Rep Power: 0
arome is neutral, pH7
Reputation: 21
Thumbs up

Looks like an interesting set up! Looking forward to your shared update!
arome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2017, 10:56 AM   #7
burntrubber
Dragon
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 697
Rep Power: 4
burntrubber has many friendsburntrubber has many friendsburntrubber has many friendsburntrubber has many friends
Reputation: 315
Default

You could keep peat in a bag inside your canister.
burntrubber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2017, 11:31 AM   #8
amiidae
Moderator
 
amiidae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 7,135
Rep Power: 8
amiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personality
Reputation: 1557
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by burntrubber View Post
You could keep peat in a bag inside your canister.
Yes I am aware of that. And that can bring down the water pH etc.. for the water parameter part. However, that cannot replicate or come close to the natural habitat for the fishes to burrow into/under the substrate.
__________________
MY ALL-NEW --> AMIIDAE.COM BLOG

amiidae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2017, 04:06 PM   #9
onlyyouknow
Senior Dragon
 
onlyyouknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,135
Rep Power: 6
onlyyouknow is a famous personalityonlyyouknow is a famous personalityonlyyouknow is a famous personalityonlyyouknow is a famous personalityonlyyouknow is a famous personalityonlyyouknow is a famous personalityonlyyouknow is a famous personalityonlyyouknow is a famous personalityonlyyouknow is a famous personalityonlyyouknow is a famous personality
Reputation: 1334
Default

If the fishes burrow into the soil will get really messy. I had a lot of issues with soil used for fishes and gave up eventually. I kept the soil in smaller tanks and place them into the tank instead of directly into the fish tank. A lot easier to maintain. Unless you are ok with murky waters every now and then.
onlyyouknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2017, 04:56 PM   #10
amiidae
Moderator
 
amiidae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 7,135
Rep Power: 8
amiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personalityamiidae is a famous personality
Reputation: 1557
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by onlyyouknow View Post
I kept the soil in smaller tanks and place them into the tank instead of directly into the fish tank. A lot easier to maintain.
I dont get what you mean. Care to elaborate ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by onlyyouknow View Post
Unless you are ok with murky waters every now and then.
I am mindful of that. Well .. Let see how much I can tahan..
__________________
MY ALL-NEW --> AMIIDAE.COM BLOG


Last edited by amiidae; 28-08-2017 at 05:04 PM.
amiidae is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Adv


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +9. The time now is 12:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2000-2008 Arofanatics.com (Since 30th August 2000)